BEd Foundation Phase Teaching UP

By | January 5, 2021

BEd Foundation Phase Teaching UP

The teacher education programmes of the Faculty of Education have been approved and accredited by the Department of Education. Due to the fact that the Faculty places high emphasis on the development of skills and competences, class attendance is compulsory for all student teachers for the full duration of the training period specified by SAQA (South African Qualification Authority).
Programme delivery
The PGCE consists of a university-based learning (UBL) component and a school-based learning (SBL) component. The UBL component is presented in the format of learning shops during which students construct a practice theory of and for education. For the purpose of the SBL component, students are placed in two partnership schools with different compositions for 6 weeks each (a total of 12 weeks), during which they engage in education practice while they are supported and assessed by qualified mentor teachers and university mentor lecturers.

BEd Foundation Phase Teaching UP

Admission Requirements

  • The following persons will be considered for admission: a candidate who is in possession of a certificate that is deemed by the University to be equivalent to the required Grade 12 certificate with university endorsement; a candidate who is a graduate from another tertiary institution or has been granted the status of a graduate of such an institution; and a candidate who is a graduate of another faculty at the University of Pretoria.
  • Life Orientation is excluded when calculating the APS.
  • Prospective students with an APS of 26-29 must write the National Benchmark Test (NBT). Final admission is determined by the Admissions Committee of the Faculty and is based on the results of the NBT.
  • As soon as candidates are admitted to the BEd degree, they will be informed that they must register at the University in January of the following year. It is in the interest of prospective students to apply as soon as possible, particularly in respect of financial support and/or residence placement.
Minimum requirements for
Achievement level APS
Afrikaans or English
NSC/IEB HIGCSE AS-Level A-Level
4 3 D D 30
(26-29 admission
based on the NBT)

BEd Foundation Phase Teaching UP

Pass with Distinction

The degree is conferred with distinction to a student who obtains an overall weighted average (GPA) of 75% or higher in the BEd programme, with the condition that the degree is completed in the prescribed 4 years.
Education General Enquiries:  +27 (0)12 420 4670 or Vida Moses, +27 (0)12 420 4216  vida.moses@up.ac.za
Undergraduate: Thandi Mngomezulu  +27 (0)12 420 5615 thandi.mngomezulu@up.ac.za or Hannie de Weerd +27 (0)12 420 5644 hannie.deweerd@up.ac.za
Postgraduate: Bronwynne Swarts +27 (0)12420 5679 bronwynne.swarts@up.ac.za or Pulane Tau +27 (0)12 420 2725 pulane.tau@up.ac.za,
Distance Education: Rita Venter +27 (0)12420 5589 rita.venter@up.ac.za or Lorinda Theart +27 (0)12 420 4426 lorinda.theart@up.ac.za